Minnesota timeline

Minnesota probate timeline: the 30-day wait and creditor deadlines

The simplified route starts 30 days after death.

Minnesota creditor deadlines are set out below against the event each one runs from.

Sources reviewed August 9, 2026. Latest primary-source re-fetch October 3, 2026.

The one date this page can source

The collection of personal property by affidavit route requires 30 days to elapse from the date of death. This is a precondition: the affidavit or petition cannot be presented before it runs, regardless of how straightforward the estate is.

524.3-1201 COLLECTION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY BY AFFIDAVIT. (a) Thirty days after the death of a decedent, (i) any person indebted to the decedent, (ii) any person having possession of tangible personal property or an instrument evidencing a debt, obligation, stock, or chose in action belonging to the decedent, or (iii) any safe deposit company, as defined in section 55.01 , controlling the right of access to decedent's safe deposit box shall make payment of the indebtedness or deliver the tangible personal property or an instrument evidencing a debt, obligation, stock, or chose in action or deliver the entire contents of the safe deposit box to a person claiming to be the successor of the decedent, or a state or county agency with a claim authorized by section 256B.15 , upon being presented a certified death record of the decedent and an affidavit made by or on behalf of the successorMinn. Stat. § 524.3-1201 — Minnesota Revisor of Statutes; History: 1974 c 442 art 3 s 524 .3-1201; 1976 c 161 s 13 ; 1977 c 159 s 1 ; 1978 c 741 s 9 ; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 74 ; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 151 ; 1991 c 11 s 1 ; 1992 c 461 art 1 s 2 ; 1995 c 130 s 18 ; 1997 c 217 art 2 s 18 ; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 13 ; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 15 s 32 ; 2002 c 347 s 3 ; 2009 c 117 art 1 s 3 ; 2016 c 135 art 2 s 31.

Creditor deadlines

From publication of notice to creditors
Four months after the court administrator’s notice that is subsequently published.
From actual notice to a known creditor
For a creditor served under § 524.3-801(c), the later of four months after first publication or one month after service.
From appointment of the representative
Appointment triggers issuance/publication duties under § 524.3-801, but the claim bar is not stated as a fixed period from appointment.
Outer limit, running from death
One year after death for covered predeath claims, subject to statutory exceptions.

How these combine. Multiple independent deadlines run from first publication, individual service, claim accrual, and death, so one days value would mislead.

524.3-801 NOTICE TO CREDITORS. (a) Unless notice has already been given under this section, upon appointment of a general personal representative in informal proceedings or upon the filing of a petition for formal appointment of a general personal representative, notice thereof, in the form prescribed by court rule, shall be given under the direction of the court administrator by publication once a week for two successive weeks in a legal newspaper in the county wherein the proceedings are pending giving the name and address of the general personal representative and notifying creditors of the estate to present their claims within four months after the date of the court administrator's notice which is subsequently published or be forever barred, unless they are entitled to further service of notice under paragraph (b) or (c).Minn. Stat. § 524.3-801 — Minnesota Revisor of Statutes; History: 1975 c 347 s 58 ; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82 ; 1989 c 163 s 1 ; 1996 c 451 art 2 s 55 ; 1997 c 217 art 2 s 16 ; 2000 c 400 s 6 ; 2008 c 341 art 4 s 3 ; 2024 c 79 art 9 s 20 ; 2024 c 127 art 55 s 15.

Minnesota sets a different deadline for each kind of creditor, and how the creditor was told decides which one applies

Minn. Stat. § 524.3-803(a) does not state one period. It states three, and which one binds a given creditor turns on the notice that creditor was constitutionally entitled to. A creditor “only entitled, under the United States Constitution and under the Minnesota Constitution, to notice by publication” has four months after the date of the court administrator’s notice to creditors. A creditor actually served under § 524.3-801(c) has “the later to expire of four months after the date of the first publication of notice to creditors or one month after the service.”

Behind both sits an outer limit that runs regardless: clause (3) bars pre-death claims after “one year after the decedent’s death, whether or not notice to creditors has been published or served.” Publishing nothing does not extend the exposure past a year, and it does not shorten it below one either.

That one-year backstop has a named exception. The statute provides that claims authorized by § 246.53, § 256B.15 or § 256D.16 — the state’s medical assistance and related recovery provisions — “must not be barred after one year as provided in this clause.” An estate that assumes the year closes everything can be wrong about the largest single creditor it faces.

Claims arising at or after the death run on their own four-month clocks under subsection (b): a claim on a contract with the personal representative within four months after performance is due, and any other claim within four months after it arises.

Subsection (c) preserves four things from the bar entirely: proceedings to enforce a mortgage, pledge or other lien on estate property; proceedings to establish liability covered by insurance, “to the limits of the insurance protection only”; certain § 524.3-715(18) claims presented within a year of death; and, before a closing petition or statement is filed, other claims allowed by the court “for cause shown on notice and hearing as the court may direct.” The last of these means a Minnesota bar is not always final in the way Missouri’s and Ohio’s are — the court retains a discretion to let a late claim in.

Source: Minn. Stat. § 524.3-803 (limitations on presentation of claims), read from the enacting state’s own published code on 2026-09-17. Quoted wording is the statute’s; the surrounding explanation is this site’s reading of it and is not legal advice.

General sequence: first week, how long probate takes.

Minnesota record: 5/5 verified, 16 matched checks, latest source re-fetch October 3, 2026. Source record · method · report a correction